Central Park Suffrage Statue Finalists Announced

The monument to suffrage leaders Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony to be erected in Central Park came closer to reality this week, as the four finalists for the design were named: Meredith Bergmann, Jane DeDecker, Victoria Guerina with Lloyd Lillie, and Ann Hirsch. Slated for a 2020 unveiling on the centennial of the ratification of the 19th Amendment, the monument will stand on The Mall in Central Park on Literary Walk.

Pam Elam, President of the Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony Statue Fund has been working for years with suffrage historians and others to raise awareness and funding for this important landmark. In addition to honoring the suffrage leaders, the statue will be the first depicting real women in a park that is dotted with statues of nymphs, animals and men. The statue will also honor the memory of the many others who worked tirelessly to advance women’s rights.

The winner will be announced in July, 2018. For further information about the statue, and information on how to donate to this wonderful cause, go to the website:http://centralparkwherearethewomen.org

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.